Make a Reservation

Testimonial

 
  • Friendly Staff!

    May 2019| Google (Antonio Sjoberg)
    Friendly staff and the room was clean. Breakfast was good! Coffee, tea and hot cocoa available all day.

     
  • Love this hotel!

    Carissa Carter | via Guest Survey Form (reviewed May 2019)

    We have stayed here before and absolutely love this hotel. Great location, clean, tidy, friendly helpful staff. We will be back next year. 

    Guest Survey (5 being best)

    Reservation process – 5  | Check-in process – 5 |  Amenities – 5 |Room condition –  5| Breakfast buffet – 4 |  Staff courtesy – 5| Overall – 5

     

     

     
  • Helpful Staff!

    Casey Coleman | via Guest Survey Form (reviewed May 2019)

    Celeste and all the staff were very helpful. We were treated very courteous and got extra towels. I love the waffles in the morning and the cappuccino, coffee machine was fantastic. Double shot espresso too, all included all day.

    Guest Survey (5 being best)

    Reservation process – 5  | Check-in process – 5 |  Amenities – 5| Room condition –   4| Breakfast buffet – 5 |  Staff courtesy – 5| Overall – 5

     

     
  • Gorgeous Creek in Backyard

    March 2019 | TripAdvisor (Charles F)
    Our kids really enjoyed playing in the snow surrounding the property. The hospitality of was excellent and rooms very clean and tidy. Will return again.

     
  • Great lodging!

    March 2019 | TripAdvisor (Chelsea42)
    Our room and bathroom were clean and fairly spacious. There was parking out front, and the location is good, just a short drive to Truckee.

     
  • Convenient and Comfortable

    March 2019 | Yelp (Cindy L)
    Five stars for the hotel located conveniently nearby the freeway. Room was comfortable, nice bedding, very clean. It is a lodge for skiing patronage and breakfast is included. They do have waffle fresh made by you which is nice.
    Front desk is very helpful.If you want a convenient, comfortable place to stay for your skiing visit, it is the right place for you.

     
  • Exceptional

    Jun 2018 | Booking.com guest review
    Perfect location. Can’t say much more as we were only there one night. Checked in late and left to play golf right up the road at Coyote Moon fairly early. Breakfast was good enough to get me going and the room was nice and clean.

     
  • Overall, a great stay!

    Oct 2018 | Booking.com guest review

    I liked everything really, from the nice friendly staff to a great breakfast in the morning. The room was very clean, and the bed was nice, and comfy. The lodge itself was conveniently located to shopping, gas stations etc. Overall it was a great experience, and I definitely will be back.

     
  • Awesome

    Dec 2018 | Booking.com guest review
    Clean, spacious room with fireplace. Good value compared to other properties in Truckee area.

     
  • Exceptional

    Feb 2019 | Booking.com guest review

    Nice lodge, good value for money… Close to skiing resorts in the area. The staff was nice and welcoming.

     
  • Exceptional

    Dec 2018 | Booking.com guest review

    Friendly staff, and a nice hot coco and coffee machine which is available for use 24hrs. Great location for easy access to Northstar and Downtown Truckee. Clean and spacious rooms.

     
  • Clean, easy access to Donner Park

    Jul 2017 | Trip Advisor guest review

    We have stayed here a couple times, and it is a good choice when in the area. It isn’t right in town, though, if that matters to you. Both times we had a room overlooking the park which is a nice change from the ‘usual’ parking lot when you’re driving cross country. But walking the area (literally next door to the hotel) is a must if you’ve read or listened to the unabridged book on Audible as we did driving.

     
  • Good highway hotel with great access to Tahoe and Reno

    Jun 2018 | Trip Advisor guest review

    Truckee Donner Lodge is located on the I-80 from Sacramento to Reno, about a 35-min drive from Reno. Tahoe City is a 20-min drive and Donner Lake is only minutes away, so the location of the hotel is great. The hotel itself was quite nice, too – the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds.

     
  • Convenient location and comfortable rooms

    Aug 2018 | Trip Advisor guest review

    This hotel is situated on the edge of town easily accessed from the highway. Close to restaurants as well as Lake Tahoe, it’s a great choice for a great price. A pool is on-site and breakfast is included too making it a family friendly option.

     
  • Very comfortable stay.

    Nov 2018 | Booking.com guest review
    Great stay for the price! Very clean, spacious. Staff very friendly. Breakfast is standard. I would definitely return here.

     
  • Found our Snow Hotel

    February 2019 | Yelp (Derell J)
    If you want a clean, quiet, serene, and as far as I’m concerned perfect place to stay when you’re in Truckee, stay here. Celeste, one of the employees there, was absolutely wonderful. She had our room ready to go and all my wife had to do was sign so I gave her a tip to show my appreciation. When we check out complimentary breakfast, it was was outstanding. Rooms were just perfect, lobby was very cozy, staff minded their business but helpful with whatever you need and with exactly what you want when you’re on vacation. Complimentary coffee, hot cocoa tea etc. Great view from the room and my daughters who are 14 and 9 did not want to leave .We have found our place when we travel to the snow.

     
  • Can’t Wait to Come Back!

    February 2019 | Yelp (Joseph D)
    Love this place! Can’t wait to go back for our next trip to the snow. The lobby has a self serve hot chocolate, coffee, tea, etc. bar that is perfect for the morning before you hit the road or slopes. Also for the welcome drink that you’d receive when you stay in high class resorts, but without feeling as if you’re under dressed!

     
  • Great Location

    January 2019 | Google (Seong-Wook Joo)
    Location is the biggest pro – close to both Boreal/Soda springs and north Tahoe. Clean room. Nice view from room and instant coffee.

     
  • Friendly and Helpful!

    January 2019 | Expedia (Scott)
    Friendly helpful staff! Very nice room, comfortable & attractive. A good breakfast included. Convenient to highway & some local ski areas. Overall, glad I stayed here.

     
  • Excellent!

    December 2018 | Expedia guest review
    Excellent location , close to I-80 with multiple ski resorts in 15 min distance . Room was clean. Breakfast was good – Bagels, fresh waffles, eggs , breads, muffins , fruits , yoghurt, cereals and oatmeal , 24 hour coffee and hot chocolate.

     
  • Wedding Getaway

    November 2018 | Google (Alexandra Clark)
    We stayed here for a couple of nights after our wedding! The location was perfect, less than 5 minutes from our venue and just off the freeway. It was also very close to Donner lake! The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy! It also came with a mini fridge and a microwave, perfect for a bottle of champagne and our leftovers!

     
  • Very Nice!

    September 2018 | Expedia guest review
    Very nice indeed! The view was beautiful and I love the peaceful nights as well as your good delicious breakfast!

     
  • Amazing!

    August 2018 | Google (Jenna Stage)
    Absolutely awesome! They have a washer and dryer for guests and 24 hours of free coffee/tea/hot chocolate😊. Would definitely stay here again. Very kid friendly and a great pool area.

     
  • Affordable and Nice!

    August 2018 | Google (Sean Moss)
    Room was affordable and nice. Nicer than the price as a matter of fact. The hot tub was nice and warm and everything was very clean. The hotel is 5 minutes or less from Donner Lake!

     
  • Second Visit this Year

    August 2018 | Expedia (Jeff)
    We have visited Truckee twice this year and having had a great experience in January there was no hesitation in booking into the Lodge again. The staff are great, welcoming and always have time to chat give advice on where to visit. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The area is fantastic and we love it here. Recommend this as a great place to stay and an area of awesome beauty.

     
  • Clean and Comfy

    August 2018 | Expedia (Katherine)
    A clean and comfortable hotel, hotel breakfast, and short walk to Donner Lake State park which has some trails, boat rentals, and swimming. It’s a short drive to Truckee downtown.

     
  • Another Good Stay

    August 2018 | Expedia (Debbie)
    We stayed at Truckee Donner Lodge for the second time. This time it was just a 1 night stop through town. The staff at the hotel are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good (make your own waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc.). We will stay here again if in the area.

     
  • Will Stay Again

    August 2018 | Expedia guest review
    Everything was good, beds were comfy and clean, the lady who ran the breakfast area was lovely, very efficient, friendly and kept everything running smoothly. We were close to Truckee downtown (a short drive) and very close to Donner lake and a short 8 mile drive to Tahoe, great location if you are going around local area.

     
  • Great Location

    August 2018 | Expedia guest review
    Close to Donner Lake, was able to get in the water less than 5 minutes from leaving the hotel. Pool and Hot tub were nice and clean.

     
  • Convenient Location and Comfortable Rooms

    July 2018 | TripAdvisor (Linda1590)
    This hotel is situated on the edge of town easily accessed from the highway. Close to restaurants as well as Lake Tahoe, it’s a great choice for a great price. A pool is on-site and breakfast is included too making it a family friendly option.

     
  • Stay Here Every time

    July 2018 | Expedia (Marco)
    Front desk staff (all 3 women) were sincerely very friendly and helpful with recommendations and general questions about the area. The 24/7 insta-coffee maker in the lobby is BONUS!!! Loved it!!!

     
  • Spacious

    July 2018 |Expedia (Grmacp)
    Looks newly painted outside, and there is new carpet and furnishings in our room. The spa is big enough for 9 people. It is next to Hwy 80, so access is very convenient. The King bed was comfortable and the room was spacious.

     
  • Awesome Customer Service

    July 2018 | Expedia (Carl)
    I made a mistake and booked one day off of my intended stay. Celeste at Truckee Donner Lodge worked with me to ensure that the non-refundable reservation was moved to the proper day, and all was taken care of. Awesome customer service!

     
  • Hidden Gem

    July 2018 | Expedia guest review
    Hidden gem in the Sierra. Close to ski resorts and Donner Lake. Great free breakfast. My kids loved the hot chocolate/coffee bar in the lobby. Quiet and spacious rooms.

     
  • Great Access to Tahoe and Reno

    June 2018 | TripAdvisor (Willemb89)
    Truckee Donner Lodge is located on the I-80 from Sacramento to Reno, about a 35-min drive from Reno. Tahoe City is a 20-min drive and Donner Lake is only minutes away, so the location of the hotel is great. The hotel itself was quite nice, too – the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds.

     
  • Nice!

    Jack Nizzoli | via Guest Survey Form (reviewed June 2018)

    The people at the desk were extremely nice

    Guest Survey (5 being best)

    Reservation process – 5  | Check-in process – 5 |  Amenities – 4 |Room condition –  5| Breakfast buffet – 4 |  Staff courtesy – 5| Overall – 5

     

     
  • Courteous Staff

    Monique Moss | via Guest Survey Form (reviewed June 2018)

    I so much enjoy my stay every month at your hotel since March this year. Celeste (Reservation desk) is so very courteous/helpful and a joy to work with. When I return to your hotel, she remembers my name and also we have friendly conversations. Your staff are all very courteous and friendly and I will be back every month during my visits to my daughter who lives in Truckee.

    Guest Survey (5 being best)

    Reservation process – 5  | Check-in process – 5 |  Amenities – 5| Room condition –  5| Breakfast buffet – 4 |  Staff courtesy – 5| Overall – 5

     
  • Outstanding “Excellent hotel after a day on the hill!”

    Feb 6, 2016 | Hotels.com guest review

    My 8 friends and I stayed here after snowboarding at Sugar Bowl Resort. It was 15 minutes away, and right next to downtown Truckee. After a day on the hill all you want is a huge hot tub and a good meal. Downtown Truckee did not disappoint. We also ran into some locals in the hot tub that gave us some fantastic ski hill recommendations and restaurants in town and bars! My only complaint was that the breakfast was not big enough to handle the crowd. They had hot, fresh food, but they did it in batches and she couldn’t keep up with the demand. Are Omelets and pancakes the best way to serve a crowd? Not really. That being said, there were a lot of options, cereal, muffins, English muffin, toast, instant oatmeal. They just need to make this sitting area larger to accommodate everyone and work on the flow of the breakfast area.

     
  • Outstanding

    Feb 4, 2016 | Hotels.com guest review
    Great place for the snow season!

     
  • “For Years Our Truckee Favorite Lodge”

    Lynn M  | 5of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Jan 2016)

    We were in Truckee for our family Christmas gathering again this year.
    We always stay the Truckee Donner Lodge. Have for years. It’s clean, clean, clean, very well run/managed, with a friendly helpful staff and you can’t beat the location.
    It’s an easy on/off I-80, close to all the winter ski areas in Tahoe, and besides winter skiing ~ it’s a perfect location for Truckee Summer Farmers Markets, concerts on the shores of Lake Tahoe, Summer Shakespeare at Sand Point Harbor, hiking, biking, shopping in charming western historical downtown Truckee.
    The Truckee Donner Lodge rooms are very comfortable, nicely appointed ~ making it a perfect place to end a day of outdoor exercise and fun.

     
  • “Quiet and amazing place!”

    Charan Reddy E | 5of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Jan 2016)

    We stayed in a 2 Queen room and the stay was fantastic. Downtown Truckee is just minutes away. We reached the hotel on a snowy day and the view from the room was amazing. Reception area had free tea/coffee and hot chocolate.

    I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet and cozy accommodation away from all the hustle buzzle of South Lake Tahoe.

     
  • “Spot On”

    CCandWH | 5 of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Feb 2016)
    We really enjoyed our one night stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly and informative. The decor is as pictured on their website. Very tidy room and we loved the wildlife silhouette light fitting on the ceiling. The hotel is not walking distance from the main street of Truckee, but only a few minutes drive. If you are a train enthusiast, as we are, you can stand at the driveway and look across at the trains going through Donner Pass. Drive downtown and train spot to your heart’s content, if there’s a train coming. We have visited Truckee before and the only trains we saw were very late at night, but worth the wait. Continental breakfast at the hotel was very pleasant.

     
  • “Great Gateway For Nordic Skiing”

    Edward K | 5 of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Feb 2016)

    Royal Gorge XC Ski is about a half hour away and Tahoe Donner XC Ski is about fifteen minutes away. The location of the inn affords easy access to Paco’s XC Ski Shop, great Mexican and Italian restaurants (La Bamba and Village Pizzeria) and all the other great restaurants of Truckee. The inn is very comfortable and quite. The staff at the front desk and the housekeeping staff have almost all been there for many years and their service is excellent. John Bordin, the manage, is committed to your having the most satisfying stay as possible. I always look forward to returning to the Truckee Donner Lodge for my cross country adventures.

     
  • “What a Great Place!”

    RubyS959 | 4 of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Feb 2016)

    Using Tripadvisor, I researched places to stay near Truckee for just an overnight and Truckee Donner Lodge was highly recommended! No kidding! It was a nice, small place, warm and cozy! The rooms were VERY comfortable and quiet! The nice continental breakfast helped us get through the morning! The lodge was only 2 minutes from the Donnor Pass National Park! It really was a very pleasant stay – one thing though – the parking. If you don’t park your car early enough… you might not find parking close to the lodge. Otherwise – I would definitely stay again!

     
 
 
 

A great time to visit Truckee is now!

Fantastic hiking, biking, shopping, eating, walking, swimming, boating, and so many outdoor recreational opportunities are here for your summer time activities. Come stay at the Truckee Donner Lodge!